

Duval County Public Schools

November 17, 2009, Organizational Meeting

Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson, Chairman Ms Nancy Broner, Vice-Chairman Ms. Martha Barrett Ms. Betty Burney Ms. Vicki Drake Mr. W. C. Gentry Mr. Tommy Hazouri Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

ATTENDANCE AT THIS ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE DUVAL COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD: All Board Members were present. Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent, and Ms. Karen Chastain, Assistant General Counsel, Office of General Counsel, were also present.

Call Meeting to Order

1. CALL MEETING TO ORDER

Minutes: The Chairman called the Organizational Meeting to order at 5:13 p.m.

2. APPROVAL OF THE NOVEMBER 17, 2009, AGENDA

Motions:

That the Duval County School Board approve the November 17, 2009, Organizational Meeting - PASS agenda as published on November 13, 2009.

Vote Results

Motion: Nancy Broner

Second: Victoria Drake	
Martha Barrett	- Aye
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Aye
William Gentry	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye

Invocation

INVOCATION

Minutes: The Reverend Freddie Richardson gave the Invocation.

Pledge of Allegiance

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Board Members'

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Minutes: Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson was unanimously elected Chairman of the Board for 2009-2010.

Motions:

Ms. Nancy Broner nominated Brenda Priestly Jackson for Chairman, and Ms. Betty Burney seconded.

- PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Nancy Broner

Second: Brenda Priestly jackson		
Martha Barrett	- Aye	
Nancy Broner	- Aye	
Betty Burney	- Aye	
Victoria Drake	- Aye	
William Gentry	- Aye	
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye	
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye	

2. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

Minutes:

Ms. Nancy Broner was unanimously elected Vice-Chairman of the Board for 2009-2010.

The Oath of Office was administered to Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson and Ms. Nancy Broner by Reverend Freddie Richardson.

Chairman Priestly Jackson thanked the Board for nominating her as Chairman for the coming year, saying that she was both honored and humbled to serve the Board and the community in this role. She reflected on the challenges facing the Board in the coming year and how each Board member brought certain strengths to the Board to make the team stronger.

Vice-Chairman Nancy Broner thanked the Board for nominating her as Vice-Chairman and shared the sentiments expressed by Chairman Priestly Jackson regarding the challenges ahead and the Board coming together as a team.

<u>Speakers:</u>

Mr. Ed Pratt Dannals, Superintendent Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson, Board Chairman Ms. Nancy Broner, Board Vice-Chairman Ms. Betty Burney, Board Member Ms. Martha Barrett, Board Member Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Board Member Ms. Vicki Drake, Board Member Mr. W. C. Gentry, Board Member

Motions:	
Ms. Martha Barrett nominated Nancy Broner for Vice-Chairman, and Ms. Vicki Drake seconded	- PASS
Vote Results	
Motion: Martha Barrett	
Second: Victoria Drake	
Martha Barrett	- Aye
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Aye
William Gentry	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye
Brenda Priestly jackson	- Aye

3. ESTABLISH TIME, PLACE, AND DATE OF REGULAR MEETINGS

Motions:

That the Duval County School Board hold the regular monthly Board Meetings on the first Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m., in the 1st Floor Board Room of the Administration Building, 1701 Prudential Drive.	- PASS
Vote Results	
Motion: Nancy Broner	
Second: Betty Burney	
Martha Barrett	- Aye
Nancy Broner	- Aye
Betty Burney	- Aye
Victoria Drake	- Aye
William Gentry	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye

Brenda Priestly jackson

- Aye

For The Record

FOR THE RECORD

Minutes:

There were no items "For The Record."

Adjournment

ADJOURNMENT

Minutes:

The Chairman adjourned the Organizational Meeting at 5:32 p.m.

BSC

Superintendent

Chairman